President’s Message July 2020

Greetings friends,

We hope that you and your families continue to be safe and well as Summer officially settles into residence. Our 2020 AGM was successfully completed on Sunday, June 28, with 35 Stroll members in attendance. Our abundant thanks to Lisa Mulrooney for her exceptional technical support and Don Perkins for his masterful work as Returning Officer.

John Leppard happily returns as president and we are pleased to welcome Shirley Serviss to our leadership team. She brings her abundant energy, skill and experience to a returning group consisting of board members Alice Major, Anne Gerard Marshall, Janis Dow, Lisa Mulrooney, Naomi McIlwraith and Markus Eymann. They are joined by returning board associates Max Vandersteen, Josh Luukkonen and Audrey Brooks. We are so very fortunate to have such an amazing group of dedicated folks to guide our organization.

The new leadership team will hold its first meeting in July and high on the list of agenda items is consideration of possible strategies for safe distribution of our anthology. We will keep you posted in our newsletter on developments in this area. We are committed to running a Poets’ Haven reading series for 2020/2021. Whether that will be face-to-face or on-line remains to be determined. Our scheduled starting date is Monday, September 14 at 7 pm. We are really looking forward to a strong 30th season of serving poets and poetry, with the most vibrant and passionate membership anywhere!

Yours in verse,
John Leppard